Gambling area profile for Worcestershire

Worcestershire Regulatory Services, acting on behalf of the six district councils in Worcestershire have completed a local area profile as recommended by the Gambling Commission in their guidance to licensing authorities (GLA). The local area profile covers the geographic area of the County of Worcestershire, within which there are six licensing authorities under the Gambling Act 2005:

  • Bromsgrove District Council
  • Malvern Hills District Council
  • Redditch Borough Council
  • Worcester City Council
  • Wychavon District Council
  • Wyre Forest District Council

The local area profile has been created with a view to increasing awareness of local risks, improving information sharing and to facilitate constructive engagement with licensees and a more coordinated response to local risks.

The local area profile will also help to inform specific risks that operators need to address in their own risk assessments, which will form part of any new licence application, or an application to vary a licence.

The local area profile does not form part of any of the licensing authorities “Statement of Principles” under the Gambling Act 2005, but is referred to in them.

The local area profile will be regularly reviewed and refreshed in consultation with the responsible authorities identified in the Gambling Act 2005 and other relevant organisations including public health, mental health, housing, education, community welfare groups, community safety partnerships, and organisations such as GamCare or equivalent local organisations.

The current local area profile for Worcestershire can be downloaded below:

Gambling - Local Area Profile